Sweet Potato crisps

Good Morning! Today I am trying my hand at sweet potato dehydration. The goal? Crisp sweet potato chips.

I used a Mandoline to slice the sweet potatoes so the cuts would be even and consistent.

A word on mandoline safety. The mandoline is very sharp, and if your finger (or finger nail) gets too close it will get sliced too. I got my fingernail too close and it put a nice slice into it. It did not slice it off, but I had to trim it to fix the gash the mandoline made.

So, please, please,  please  if you’re using a mandoline……..

Be careful!

Here is what my sweet potato slices look like right now. The drying time is 6 to 12 hours.

20110503-093431.jpg

sweet potato slices

I’ll keep you posted.  🙂

4 Comments

  1. Good call on word of advice, I did this very thing not long ago (sliced my finger tips off) and am still recovering. Firm believer in using the guards. Looks like you peeled the taters first, which probably helped in slicing. I think I am just going to go back to using a knife to cut them. I frequently make sweet potato treats by this very method for my dogs. Needless to say they are not picky about texture. Good luck!
    Anna
    http://akgphoto.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/whoops/

    • Ouch! Hope your healing process is speedy. I did remove the skins first. I’ve got an awesome (wide) veggie peeler. The veggie peeler, another tool to be careful with. I’ve peeled my finger a time or four with my veggie peeler. Thanks for the luck. They’re looking good so far.

  2. Oh, I hope those turn out well. Love sweet potato chips.

    • They’re very good. It took about 7 1/2 hours.

Share your thoughts!

