This week’s taste adventure

Tonight we’re having Matzo ball soup. Specifically we’re having Adele’s Matzo Ball Soup. Foodie for two’s website has a wonderful step-by-step on how to make this soup.

20110430-073018.jpg

Tonight’s dinner is a taste adventure for us because it’s new to us. We’ve never had Matzo balls before.

Cutting the chicken was interesting.

Note to self:buy a whole chicken that has already been cut up for you. Cutting a 5 pound chicken up into pieces isn’t fun.

Once the chicken was

chopped at,

cut at,

cursed at (only a little)

and finally in pieces I had to cut the veggies.

Parsnips smell like spicy carrots. I like them.

Leeks are super dirty. Super dirty. Did I mention dirty?
I got my soup into my cast iron cooker and it bubbled away for 3 hours.

My house smelled WONDERFUL.

20110430-072950.jpg
the salad
20110430-072959.jpg
the soup, in the pot.
20110430-073008.jpg
the soup

Most of the family loved the soup and the Matzo balls. The picky one (aka: my daughter) liked the soup, but not the Matzo balls. I think next time I make this soup I will make extra Matzo balls, because the teen loved them. This soup is flavorful, it’s just wonderful. I’m thankful that I found Foodiefortwo’s blog post (where you can find the soup recipe).

20110430-080815.jpg
The desert. Red Velvet cake pops.
2 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing the love, JamieAnne. So glad you liked the recipe. Maybe your daughter will acquire a taste later for matzo balls. For now, that means more for the rest of you. Red velvet cake pops? Yum!

    • Maybe she will. If not more for the rest of us is right.
      Red Velvet cake pops= red velvet cake crumbled and mixed with icing. Rolled into balls, put on sticks, chilled and dipped in chocolate.

Share your thoughts!

