Tuna burger = kid fiasco = this week in FAIL

We went on, as my sister Jenn would say,  a “taste adventure” tonight.  I made tuna burgers.  My husband and I thought that they tasted very good.

The texture was not exactly what I expected, but it was not distasteful.

My children, they would disagree.

My daughter would call this a FAIL.  She had 4 bites of her burger and then moved on to a bowl of cereal.

20110423-065041.jpg

Here is the recipe I used.  I will highlight any changes I made in green. I made a double batch.

  • 1 (5-ounce) can albacore tuna in water, drained well    I used 5 (2.5 ounce) pouches
  • 1 egg  2 eggs
  • 1 scallion, chopped   Chopped onion
  • 2 tablespoons small-diced red bell pepper    3 TBSP chopped red bell pepper
  • 2 tablespoons whole wheat breadcrumbs      4 TBSP bread crumbs, I did not have whole wheat
  • 1/2 tablespoon Dijon mustard     1 TBSP Dijon mustard
  • 2 pinches red pepper flakes     1 pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt      1 tsp garlic salt
  • A few grinds fresh black pepper      a dash of hamburger seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil      olive oil
  • a dash of dried parsley
  • Whole wheat bread, tomato slices, and lettuce for serving       white wheat buns and lettuce

Here are the directions, as stated on SeriousEats.com

  1. In a mixing bowl, combine tuna, egg, scallion, red bell pepper, breadcrumbs, mustard, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper. Shape into 3/4-inch thick patties.

  2. Heat oil in a non-stick skillet over medium high heat. Gently place patties in pan. Cook until first side is browned, 4 to 6 minutes. Flip patties very carefully and cook until second side is browned, an additional 4 to 6 minutes.
  3. Serve on toasted whole wheat bread with tomato and lettuce.
Here are my pictures.
20110423-065003.jpg

The tuna mixture

20110423-065016.jpg

patties in the pan

20110423-065028.jpg

20110423-065041.jpg

The finished meal

20110423-065052.jpg

The girl, she gives it a seriously sad thumbs down.

Did you try anything new this week?

2 Comments

  1. You just tweaked that recipe a little.:)

    • You know, I realized after I posted that I had totally tweaked that recipe. No changes I made would have made a difference in my kids dislike of the burgers. You can’t always trust kid taste though. They like ketchup on just about everything.

Share your thoughts!

