Fish Tacos and Salsa rice

20110421-064035.jpg

Fish Tacos and Salsa rice

I am making my good friend Lane’s fish tacos tonight. They’re easy, sound delish and I’m in need of easy right now.

              On a completely unrelated note, I am seriously disliking the steroids that the doctor put me on. I have felt like a Chihuahua stuck at a Doberman Pinscher meet and greet for over 24 hours (that would be super shaky, sleepless, jumpy, grumpy and spastic) I’m glad tomorrow is the last dose.


I am going to make my easy salsa rice to go with the fish tacos, and because I am not able to “not mess” with recipes I will be adding a taco seasoning to the coleslaw that goes into the fish tacos. Here is the easy rice recipe.It’s easiest if you have a rice cooker, because you dump it in, plug it in, turn it on and go about your business while it does the work.

Salsa Rice

  • 3 cups of uncooked (not instant) rice *white or brown…you choose*
  • 1 package of taco seasoning, because I like short cuts, but you could use chili powder, cumin, garlic, get creative.
  • 1 cup of salsa, chunky. Mild, medium or hot…it’s your mouth. My daughter is “spicy” sensitive so we use mild.
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1 heaping tablespoon full of garlic unless you’re a vampire 😉
  • stir it, plug it in and in about 30-ism min you’ll have wonderful salsa rice.

The fish tacos seem pretty easy. Bake the fish, prepare the coleslaw, warm the tortillas. Here’s the alteration. 1/4 to 1/2 packet of Taco seasoning added to the 1 cup of coleslaw dressing to give it a Tex-Mex flair. More = zestier Here’s my fancy (iPhone photos)

20110421-053959.jpg
white rice
20110421-054011.jpg
add one package of Taco seasoning
20110421-054021.jpg
add 1 cup of salsa (or less if you prefer)
20110421-054033.jpg
add 3 cups of water
20110421-060131.jpg
1 cup of coleslaw dressing, add 1/4 to 1/2 packet of taco seasoning, depending on how zesty you want it
20110421-060141.jpg
pour taco slaw dressing over coleslaw
20110421-060152.jpg
Mix well, and let set
20110421-060202.jpg
Bake your fish, I bought Van De Camps 90 calorie fish. It was good.
20110421-070047.jpg
The finished rice. Creamy, Tex-Mex goodness.
20110421-070341.jpg
The finished meal.

It was a great meal and my son asked if we could have it every week, he especially liked the taco slaw.  A teen thumbs up isn’t that easy to get.  😉

3 Comments

  1. I like that taste on coleslaw. I always do fresh cabbage and then an aioli/salsa topping on mine. Now I really want fish tacos.

    • I’ve tried shredding my own slaw. I usually just shred my fingers. I might not have the right equipment, but if the slaw is $1 @ the grocery store, I just buy the bags.

Trackbacks

  1. Spicy Fish Tacos « Living Simply By Going Backwards

Share your thoughts!

