Cranberry Banana bread

Good afternoon baking fans! It’s a beautiful day here in North Texas. Really.

I had an errand to run and it was so BEAUTIFUL outside that I drove without the A/C on, windows down (sneezing the whole way, stoopid allergies) but the temperature is delightful.

Are you ready to make some cranberry banana bread? I am.

20110417-020548.jpg

If you have not made the cranberry sauce yet, you need this recipe.

You’ll also need my NO FAIL banana bread recipe.

Now, here’s the alteration to the recipe to make a yummy cranberry banana bread.

A tiny side note, let’s say you want cranberry banana bread, but you don’t have the cranberry sauce. No worries, my friends. Do you have dried cranberries? If you do, boil some water, place 1 cup of dried cranberries in a heat accepting bowl (we don’t want a cracked bowl) and then pour the boiling water over the dried cranberries. Let it sit for eh, about 10 min. The cranberries will plump up. Use those instead of the cranberry sauce, the taste won’t be quite the same, but it’ll do.

*If you are using dried cranberries DO NOT ALTER THE BANANA BREAD RECIPE*

If you’re using the cranberry sauce, please alter the sugar.

The banana bread recipe calls for 1 cup of sugar.

Unless you double the batch, which I always do…Go double, go double. (pardon me, too much coffee)

So, Decrease the sugar by 1/4 of a cup (That means use 3/4 cup of sugar instead for 1 cup)

unless you like your bread mad sweet.

You will make the bread per my banana bread recipe, altering the sugar to 3/4 cup

and you will add 1 cup of the cranberry sauce, you could add more than a cup if you want, but you’ll need to alter the sugar. Use this fancy math

+ 1 cup of cranberry sauce = -1/4 cup of sugar

Here are my pictures.

20110417-014747.jpg

The batter

20110417-014800.jpg

Loaf

20110417-014813.jpg

My socks, because they are cute and smell like vanilla...seriously they do!

20110417-014824.jpg

my baby bunts...LOVE THIS PAN

20110417-014834.jpg

the sideways shot, large muffins

20110417-014909.jpg

Baked baby bunts

I adore my mini (or baby) bunt pan. I use it all the time. It’s great for muffins and cakes. I received it as a gift a few years ago, but I’m sure they still sell them.

The bunt pan is my favorite for cakes, and the baby bunt is my favorite for muffins.

20110417-020548.jpg

beautiful baby bunt

20110417-020602.jpg

an inside look

Hope your Sunday is a good one!

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Cranberry Apple Sauce « A Dash of Domestic

    Share your thoughts!

