IT’S BACON…bread pudding (savory)

20110416-052715.jpg

I stumbled across this in the paper on Wednesday.

Who doesn’t love bacon? Well, except for vegetarians, people who keep Kosher and pigs. Of course, pigs might like bacon…but that would be gross. This recipe comes from a book called “I LOVE BACON!“. Sweet title huh?

Savory Bacon Bread pudding

6 oz thick-cut bacon, cut into 1/2 inch pieces

6 oz sharp cheddar, cut into 1/2 inch cubes

1/4 cup chopped fresh sage (Yeah, I did not have chopped, fresh sage…I used tarragon)

5 cups of torn, day old country bread (I used day old rolls)

6 large eggs

2 cups of whole milk (I used 2% milk)

Cook the bacon until crispy. Drain on paper towels and set aside.

Pre-heat oven to 400 F.

Place the bacon, cheese, bread and sage (tarragon) in a large bowl. 20110416-035041.jpg

In another bowl , beat the eggs, add milk to the eggs and wisk to form a custard. Add salt. 20110416-035101.jpg

Pour the custard over the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly. 20110416-035119.jpg

Allow mixture to sit for 15 min.

20110416-035132.jpg

Pour the mixture into a greased I use Crisco with flour for baking…love it!4×8-inch pan,

20110416-035204.jpg

and cover with foil. Place the loaf pan in a metal roasting pan and pour hot water into the roasting pan until it reaches 3/4th’s of the way up the sides of the loaf pan.

20110416-035215.jpg

I placed the roasting pan and a portion of the water into the over and let it heat while the bread mixture was setting up. Once the bread was ready to be placed in the pan the water was nice and hot. Bake for 45 min. Remove foil and bake for 15 min longer Mine took 20 min to brown, but that might just be my oven. 😦 to allow the top to brown and the pudding to rise.

When I took the foil off, it smelled wonderful.

20110416-043828.jpg remove from oven

Makes 4 servings.

20110416-050123.jpg
Cool for 20 min. before removing from pan.

20110416-052658.jpgIt’s softer than most of the things I bake, so I was a bit worried that it was going to break.

20110416-052715.jpg

It is VERY, VERY GOOD!

20110416-052736.jpg

The Husband gives it a thumbs up, and so do I!

6 Comments

  1. We made a strata last night! This recipe looks wonderful, love cheddar and bacon.

    • It is very good. I’m thinking it might make a delightful breakfast in the morning. How can you go wrong with bacon, eggs and cheese?

  2. You just saved me! Let me tell you what happened. About 30 minutes ago I was baking some lepinje which is basically like a pita bread that most of the women make in my husband’s country (he’s from the former Yugoslavia).

    Anyway, I made the first batch, took them out of the oven, and then stuck the 2nd batch in the oven. While it was in the oven, I called our friend and we were yacking on the phone for about 10 minutes. After we hung up, I realized that bread was still in the oven. I had totally forgot about it.

    Well, it wasn’t burnt to a crisp but it’s very hard and crunchy…kind of like pita bread sized croutons. LOL! 🙂

    Anyway, if there’s one thing I can’t stand more than anything else, it’s throwing food away. So I’m bookmarking your recipe, and I’ll make this tomorrow night for dinner.

    So you see, you totally saved me from throwing away all that bread and I’m very happy now! Thank you!! 🙂

    • Oh boy have I been there! It only takes a distraction or two to mess a recipe up. I love that you, like I do, try to find a way to save your oopses (is oopses a word?)! You’re so welcome! I hope you enjoy the bacon bread pudding it is really tasty. 🙂

  3. My sister would just drool over this. I’m definitely bookmarking this recipe!

    • It’s really tasty. Rich, bacon-ey and tasty.

Share your thoughts!

