Zombie Eggs and Tornado Outbreaks

20120407-203725.jpg

Holidays are all about miracles.

Passover or Easter, it’s all about the miracles. The miracle of protection. The miracle of resurrection.

Miracles….

Speaking of miracles, We had a bit of a tornado outbreak here in Central North Texas on April 3rd. We had 13 tornadoes in the DFW area in one day. A lot of property damage in the metro-plex, but thankfully no deaths.

Miracles.

Holidays also mean thankfulness, food, family and ……

at Easter time ….Coloring eggs with my teen-aged kids.

My son actually wanted to participate this year. Shocking, happily so.

To make egg coloring more Teen friendly…we made a few Zombie eggs.

20120407-203735.jpg

Don't mind our Zombie eggs, they don't bite.

20120407-203743.jpg

20120407-203756.jpg

freaky egg

No matter how you celebrate, I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

iPhone Photo Phun

Ideas on how to use up all those hard-boiled eggs

12 Comments

  1. Growing up, we always made Ukrainian eggs. One of my favorite holiday traditions that I plan on continuing!

    • I need to google Ukrainian eggs. :)

      • They’re wonderful! Essentially, you use a small tool filled with melted wax to cover up parts of the egg before dipping them in different dyes. It makes such unique, intricate creations–wikipedia has a page on them that explains it pretty well :)

    • Ukrainian eggs are beautiful!!!!

  2. fivereflections

    Happy Easter ~ Jamie, JamieAnne, Momma, Honey

    David in Maine USA

  3. That was some crazy footage. Glad it wasn’t worse. Have a great Easter!

  4. I was texting my cousin in Forney the entire time the tornadoes were going through–SO scary, and yes, a miracle that there were no deaths! I didn’t get around to dying Easter eggs–an old favorite–so I’ll have to admire your freaky eggs instead :)

  5. I was given a coloured egg for the first time a year ago – they’re so pretty! Especially zombie ones ;)

  6. Zombie eggs? Gross and fascinating all at the same time. Oh, and Ukranian eggs are gorgeous!

  7. We didn’t have zombie eggs but I definitely want to try those next year.

  8. Zombie eggs sound awesome! We actually didn’t color eggs this year. I don’t even mind that much, but now I’m feeling like I kind of missed it :)

  9. What a fun idea!

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

