What’s new Wednesday

20111109-085703.jpg

Meet Alien Bob. We got this cute cake pop at the Dallas Makerspace open house over the weekend.

We had a busy weekend. On Saturday afternoon we went to the open house at the Dallas Makerspace. We met a lot of really lovely people. We had a great time, our daughter learned how to make a cute little wolf..via “sew by numbers” check out my favorite “sew by numbers” character , we saw a working R2-D2 robot, and I won a neat Lilypad kit (it makes a wear-able, program-able l.e.d. lit computer thing-y) My husband was very excited.

As you could tell from my description, I am still a bit confused about what it does.

What I learned Saturday, what I am most excited to share with you is loom knitting. I have been wanting to learn how to knit. Like forever.

There was a lovely lady knitting when we arrived at the Makerspace, I spent a long time talking to her.

She was knitting a Jayne Hat. As in Firefly, let me show you…..

A better view of the hat type she was knitting.

As a Firefly fan, I was very impressed with her choice. :) Yes, I’m a Sci-Fi geek-ette.

Anyhoo…. I was suitably inspired. I’ve been a knitting fool since Sunday. So far I have knitted the following.

20111109-085713.jpg

One child

20111109-085722.jpg

Mulit-colored hat, for a Niece.

20111109-085731.jpg

Another hat, *My daughter knitted this one*

20111109-085739.jpg

This is the hat I am currently working on.

20111109-085749.jpg

another view

20111109-085757.jpg

cool huh?

Is it true knitting? I don’t know. It is fun, I am being productive, and I am not frustrated by the learning curve.

I’m calling it a win.

What new things have you been up to lately?

iPhone Photo Phun

18 Comments

  1. Ah, Jayne…how I’ve missed you!
    So nice to find a fellow geek-ette!

  2. I can’t tell if I’m scared of that cake pop or if it looks good, haha. Way to take up “knitting!” I love every string-related craft. ‘Cause that’s what the cool kids do, right? And YES for Jayne and Firefly :)

  3. I have wanted to learn to knit for a long time. I have a friend who has agreed to teach me. I even found a beginner’s kit at Goodwill. Now I just need to take the time to learn. I do have another friend who uses the loom. She loves it. Maybe I’ll check into that first ;)

    Take care my friend!

  4. That cake pop really made me jump when I clicked onto your blog! I´m knitting too but the old fashioned way – I´m loving that little gadget of yours and may have to ask father Christmas to track one down for me. So speedy, and what lovely things you and your daughter have made :)

  5. Awesome gadget that you are using there. I am nearly finished with a crochet blanket that I am making for a great nephew that is due in February. I will post about it just as soon as I have finished it. :-) Mandy

  6. Ha, I love that show!

  7. I can’t believe this!! I use to do that “knitting” when I was mucho younger!! I never knew what it was called but as soon as I saw the pic of it; I remembered instantly!! I never really made anything like you have. I wonder where I can find one around me..got to check it out, at least I know now what it’s called!!

    • I bought a set of 4 round knitting looms at a local craft store. I’ve seen them at Walmart also.

  8. KLZ

    Dude! That’s a ton of stuff to have made in just a few days!

    • I’m knitting while we watch T.V. and while waiting for my kids to get out of school. Turns out I have a lot of free time. :)

  9. Janice

    When I was trying to teach my daughter how to knit, it was a bit difficult. She was only 6. But I discovered loom knitting and taught her. She is a loom knitting queen! She’s 8 now but she has made many, many scarves. She’s made hats and pillows. She’s working on a sock and a blanket. She uses both the straight and round ones. Anyway, I totally consider it knitting since it follows the same basic stitch. You can even do cables. Once you get the hang of it, I think knitting with sticks may come a little easier.

    Your projects look great!! Can you say Christmas gifts??

  10. Wow, very cool! I know how to crochet, but couldn’t quite figure out knitting. Maybe I need one of those things!

  11. well done on your win!

  12. Love that show! And love the knitting!

  13. What cute hats! My sister made us scarves one year with a tool similar to yours.

  14. Hey, thanks for the shoutout! I feel honored to have seen your Jayne hat in progress! It turned out great <3

    • Hi Haley! Thanks for the comment. My daughter and I enjoyed meeting you on Saturday!

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

