Chili cheese pies

20111019-194644.jpg

This is my new personal pie maker. Don't mind the mess in the picture. Trial and Error.....it's messy.

I got a new iPhone 4S on Friday. The camera is amazing, it even has a flash.

Awesomesauce.

Because my new phone rocks, and because I heart Liz of a Belle, a Bean and a Chicago dog

I’m linking up for iPhone photo phun.

iPhone Photo Phun

I made chili on Tuesday. Yummy turkey chili.

Now, I’m making personal chili pies. They are portable, cheesy and taste wonderful.

Place dough onto the pie maker. Any homemade or store-bought dough works.

Make sure the dough is slack, it needs room to move or it will break and you will be wearing the filling.

Trust me on this.

20111019-194714.jpg

My dough is ugly, but trust me this is tasty.

Add a pinch of cheese to the dough.

20111019-194723.jpg

Add some chili. I added corn to my chili. Just because.

Don’t over fill the pies, or they will be drippy. Using the handles of the pie maker seal the pies.

20111019-194736.jpg

Place the pies on a baking sheet. Cut off any extra dough and set it aside for the other pies.

Brush the tops with olive oil and make a few small slits in the tops of the pies.

Bake the pies @ 400 degrees F for 15-20 minutes.

20111019-194745.jpg

Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly.

20111019-194759.jpg

This is my favorite pie.

These pies go beyond chili in a bowl, they go beyond chili and cornbread.

They are crispy, creamy and portable.

20111019-194811.jpg

This is my pie, you'll have to make your own.

I bought the pie maker at Target. It was less than $5.

In totally random and unrelated news…..

My MyBlogSpark giveaway is still ongoing. Enter for a chance to win a $25 Walmart gift card and Star Wars themed General Mills Cereal.

24 Comments

  1. I trust you. And you said awesomesauce! Very cool doohickey too.

  2. I have a set of those empanada makers! Aren’t they the best?? These look yummy.

    • Thanks! It was fun. Messy, but fun. I’ll try a fruit pie next, but this is my husband’s new favorite way to eat chili.

  3. What cute and delicious looking pies!

  4. I just pinned this :) Looks AMAZING.

  5. That pie maker looks like SO MUCH FUN. Uh-oh, now I’m going to get a craving for new kitchen gadgets :D That never ends well…or cheaply.

    • At least this gadget is under $5. The ice cream maker I’ve been eyeballing is not. :(

      • Woah, cheaper than I’d expect! And now I’m dreaming of savory pies… And hmm, do you have a Costco? I saw an ice cream maker there for only around $20, but I wasn’t really paying attention to how much it makes, and I’m sure it wasn’t particularly fancy. I was still tempted…

  6. Looks good, but do you have a recipe for the pie crust?

  7. I might try this tonight as we have leftover chili from Tuesday night, but I’m going to do it on my Egg (if I feel motivated). So was it just refrigerated pie crust? Like pillsbury?

    • Yes, it was Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. I’m sure any brand would work fine though.
      I’ll be interested to hear how it does on your grill.

  8. AH!! I love your personal pie maker, that is awesome. I used to work at Williams-Sonoma and they had a Breville personal pie maker that I drooled over every day I went to work. They ended up selling out and I always regret not buying one. But, this was the size of a panini machine, so it wasn’t as practical as your pie maker. :) You little pies/empanadas look delicious!

  9. These look fun and delicious! I need one of those cool pie thingies too.

    • I love it. Once I figured out how to use it. :)

  10. Liz

    I like that you love me, but I’m seriously loving that you adore your new 4S!

    Enjoy!!!

    • It’s a fun new toy! I had the 3Gs, this is a big upgrade.

  11. I have seen these pie presses – glad it works so well :)

    • It was a process of trial, mess, error and then success.

  12. Oh my gosh…do those look delicious!

    • Thanks for the comment Elena!

  13. I want one of those! Desperately obsessed now. Love the idea of doing pies/hot pockets/empanadas

  14. Cheese and chilli – I´m coming over, will bring the beers! And you made me laught with “and you´ll be wearing the sauce”…brilliant!

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

