For goodness sake, I made a Homemade Foreo!

I made an Oreo like cookie.

Honestly.

What’s better than a homemade Oreo cookie? An over-sized, soft, chewy Oreo cookie…and a foot rub, but the foot rub is totally optional. ;)

20110401-051150.jpg

It does not taste exactly like a Oreo, but it’s super good.

I decided to make the cookies soft and chewy instead of crisp. They are sweet and soft and fabulous.

I think they might be a tiny bit evil, as they are quite addictive.

I found the recipe here Clockwork Lemon.

I did not fiddle with the cookie recipe at all.

Shocking, I know.

I made really big cookies, ones that are so filling that one is more than enough, so I got fewer than 40 cookies. I got about 20 cookies.

Here is the ingredient list:

I found the recipe here Clockwork Lemon.

makes 40 small cookies or 20 large cookies

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa (if using regular cocoa add an extra tsp of baking soda)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) room-temperature, unsalted butter
1 large egg

Go. Try. Make your very own Foreos. (faux Oreos)

I’m off to take a sick child to the doctor. Hope your day is a wonderful one!

Don’t forget to enter the Swanson review and giveaway

19 Comments

  1. HAHA Foreo! I read through your post to find out what it meant, and that’s hilarious. I never think of “faux” in the context of something you could eat.. Hmm..

    Thanks for the inspiration! :)

    • Suzanne, I’m all about using words in unexpected ways. :D

  2. Fun! I love the Oreo cakesters so these sound great!

  3. Looks way better than an Oreo. But can you fry it?

    • Greg, I’m sure we could figure out a way to bread and fry it. Ha!

      I apparently missed the fried kraut balls. Kraut and sausage, breaded and fried.

  4. I don’t know, I think the food rub should be compulsory too. Great looking cookie.
    Have a happy day. :-) Mandy

  5. how much fun is that, secretly i like soft cookies too!

    • soft cookies are a big time love of mine. Soft or chewy beats crunchy everytime

  6. Hmm, at what point does a faux-reo become a moon pie? This looks like an amazing half-way point. Yum.

    • It is similar to a moon pie or a little debbies oatmeal cream pie.

  7. Chewy foreos and a foot rub…I think the government should make them compulsory for anyone over 18!

  8. We love soft and chewy cookies here. My Quay Lo is American so no surprise ya? Your foreos sounds so enticing. Got to make some this weekend. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  9. Those look so good!

    Hope your sick kiddo is feeling better.

  10. hope the sick child gets better soon :) Have a lovely weekend!

  11. Yummy! I love this idea. I totally would have gone the same route that you did – definitely soft and chewy cookies are the way to go

    • Thanks! It seems I am not the only one who loves a soft cookie. :D

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

