Red Tortilla Soup with Chicken

I love soups…love them…gobble them up. Soups freeze well, they taste better on day two or day three, I love soup. If it’s a Tex-Mex soup….even better.

Tex-Mex is one of my true food loves. Maybe it’s because I’m from Texas, maybe it’s just because Tex-Mex is Awesomesauce.

If you’re in the northern part of the United States, you may not have ever had true Tex-Mex. :( I’ve been to Pittsburgh, and although Pittsburgh has a fabulous sandwich with cole-slaw and fries in it (Bravo!) the Tex-Mex or Mexican food isn’t wonderful. (Think pasta sauce on an enchilada…) Meh.

Anyhoo…

We went to Taco Cabana over the weekend. If you’re unfamiliar with Taco Cabana…I’m sorry. :( Taco Cabana is an awesome Tex-Mex food chain (better than Taco Bell or Taco Bueno, but not as good as a “True” sit down restaurant).

Their cheese enchiladas come wrapped in these beautiful, red corn tortillas. I begged and pleaded my way into the purchase of 2 dozen uncooked red tortillas, for my tortilla soup. The cashier thought I was crazy, kept telling me they’d be uncooked…hard… “Didn’t I want fresh steamed ones?” Nope… I want the non-steamed red ones please! I convinced him.

Happy Dance!

I’ve never seen red corn tortillas anywhere else, although when I searched online Walmart claims to sell them. I have never seen them at Walmart though.

They are not necessary to make tortilla soup, but they sure are beautiful.

Red Tortilla Soup with Chicken

An adapted Pioneer Woman recipe via her post on Tasty Kitchen

Ingredients

  • Cooked chicken diced or shredded (about 2-3 cups) *omit for Vegetarian soup*
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1 teaspoon Cumin
  • 1 teaspoon Chili Powder
  • 2 teaspoons Garlic Salt
  • 1 cup Diced Onion
  • 1/2 cup Diced Green Bell Pepper
  • 1/2 cup Diced Red Bell Pepper
  • 1/2 cup Diced Yellow Pepper
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 can of yellow corn or fresh corn (1 & 1/2 cups)
  • 1-2 cups of white or brown rice (uncooked)
  • 1 can (10 Oz. Can) Rotel Tomatoes And Green Chilies (or 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of green chilies)
  • 4 cups Chicken Stock or Veggie Stock for Vegetarian soup
  • 3 Tablespoons Tomato Paste
  • 4 cups Water
  • 4 cups Black or Pinto Beans (frozen, canned or freshly cooked)
  • 3 Tablespoons Cornmeal Or Masa*
  • 5-8 whole Corn Tortillas, sliced into strips

Heat olive oil in a pot over medium high heat. Add onions, peppers, and minced garlic. Stir and begin cooking, then add the spices. Stir to combine, then add the chicken and stir.

Add the Rotel (tomatoes and green chilies), chicken stock, rice, corn, tomato paste, water, and beans to the soup pot. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer. Simmer for 45 minutes, uncovered.

*Mix cornmeal with a small amount of water, it will make a paste. Add the corn meal paste into the soup, then simmer for an additional 30 minutes. This will thicken the soup.

Turn off heat and allow the soup to rest for 20 minutes before serving.

Five minutes before serving, gently stir in tortilla strips.

I fried half of the strips to make a crunchy topping.

Place the soup in mugs or bowls and serve with

  • cheese
  • crisp tortilla strips
  • avocado
  • salsa
  • hot sauce
  • sour cream

or anything you like to top your soup with.

Enjoy!

22 Comments

  1. looks very bright! and so should be a cheerful bowl of soup. We have a chain steakhouse here called Spur and they do a tex-mex menu which I am sure is nothing like the real deal!

    • Tandy, you are an accomplished chef I am sure you make awesome Mexican food!

    • Robyn Heflin

      You can find the red tortillas in San antonio TX

      • Robyn Heflin

        Go to tortilla express and you can order some red uncooked tortillas
        Online 3-4 days for delivery hope this helps everyone here

      • Thanks Robyn. If I’m in San Antonio I’ll check them out.

  2. Ohh, we are completely on the same page today–I have big plans for tex-mex-ical lunch involving masa harina and bell peppers :D

    • Awesome! I hope you have fun house sitting!

  3. Liz

    As soon as I opened your page, I ran to my fridge and pulled out my tomatillo salsa. Closest thing I had after you had me jonesing for some tex-mex.

    • That’s the best compliment I’ve had all day Liz!

  4. This soup looks delicious, especially with those bright tortilla strips!

    • Thank you! I’ve got to find a better way to purchase the tortillas. :D

  5. Funny story and so worth the strange looks! Great recipe.

  6. I freaking love chicken tortilla soup. Maybe it’s from living in Ohio but the best chicken tortilla soup I ever had that wasn’t homemade was at the Dallas airport lol.

    I’m definitely going to have to try this out

    • I think you’ll really like it, plus you’ll impress all your friends with your mad Tex-Mex skills!

  7. I want RED tortillas!!! I’m on a mission now to find some!! I love making soups too! With a big pot of soup on hand I’m good to go for several days!!

    • I agree, I can eat soup for days and days! I’m on the lookout for a better way to purchase the tortillas, if I find it I’ll share that info!

  8. Looks and sounds amazing – so pretty too, could just eat a big bowl of this!

  9. I love Tex-Mex and Mexican food, too, and after spending 6 years in Missouri where nacho cheese sauce and hamburger were used in EVERY dish, I’m happy to be back in California where the salsa cannot be mistaken for ketchup! This is going on my pinterest board!

    I’m here via The Mommy Club…

    • Welcome Annie! I’m honored that you find the recipe pinterest worthy. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Totally Tardy 7 Links…. « A Dash of Domestic
  2. Slow Cooking Monday, Back to Basics « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

