Egg Wars…may the best dish win

Do you like baked egg-ey dishes?  I sure do!   I’m on a self-directed mission to discover the best baked egg-ey dish.   When I think of egg-ey dishes, I usually think of  frittata, quiche, spinach and baked eggs.  What do you think of?

Frittata ~VS~ Quiche…. It’s the great egg war!

Think of it as egg-ey fight club!  The point of this egg war is to find out which is better. Which is more filling? More versatile? Easier to prepare?

First, a description of what a Frittata is and what a Quiche is. Let’s see what Wikipeda has to say about them.

Frittata-

“Frittata is an egg-based dish similar to an omelette or quiche, enriched with additional ingredients such as meats, cheeses, vegetables or pasta. It may be flavored with herbs.

The Italian word frittata derives from fritto, the past participle of “to fry” (friggere),[1] and was originally a general term for cooking eggs in a skillet, anywhere on the spectrum from fried egg, through conventional omelette, to an Italian version of the Spanish tortilla de patatas, made with pasta instead of fried potato. Outside Italy, frittata was seen as equivalent to “omelette” until at least the mid-1950s.[2]“

Quiche

“In French cuisine, a Quiche is an oven-baked dish made with eggs and milk or cream in a pastry crust. Usually, the pastry shell is blind-baked before the other ingredients are added. Other ingredients such as cooked chopped meat, vegetables, or cheese are often added to the egg mixture before the Quiche is baked. Quiche is generally an open pie (i.e. it does not include a pastry covering), but may include an arrangement of tomato slices or pastry off-cuts for a decorative finish. Quiche may be eaten for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, depending on local customs and personal tastes.”

Don’t you feel all educated now? I know I do.

I’m going to be trying a few Frittata and Quiche recipes to decide which is best…Frittata or Quiche.

Here’s a great  egg-ey dishes from a foodie blogs I follow.

Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide- Baked eggs with tomatoes

Link up your baked egg-ey dish! I’d love to see what your baking up!



Which egg-ey dishes do you prefer?

9 Comments

  1. Mmmmmm, I want eggs! Thanks for the shout out too.

    • You’re most welcome. :)

  2. No eggs for me. I don’t particularly miss them, but every once in a while I crave a good over-fried egg.

    • I’d be a sad Panda without eggs.

  3. Don´t think I could choose between a frittata and a quiche (and what about a tortilla or an omelette?!) all full of eggy deliciiousness. Yum!

  4. Love making quiches though I have to keep them on a minimum because of the buttery rich crust!

    • That’s true. I like making little single serve quiches. They’re adorable and make serving sized portions.

  5. more baking to do this weekend! Quiche for me all the way :)

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

