Jalapeno Sugar Cookies

Okay, so you can see from the title that I’ve done something very interesting with my candied jalapenos.

I made a sweet and spicy cookie.

I owe huge thanks to Foodie with Family for the candied jalapeno recipe and to Blog Her Food for the idea to try to make jalapeno cookies in the first place.

No those are not chocolate chips...they're Jalapenos!

They are sweet and spicy and kind of strange.  My daughter and my husband were not fans, I think they are odd, but not bad and my teenage son…..LOVES THEM!

I don’t have any pictures of the making process, or of the cookies cooling on the pan.  I made my cookies to large…

OOPS..FAIL….

I ended up with a  large Pangaea shaped cookie.  I had to separate the cookie continents in order to sample the cookie. Cookie continents…Heh! That’s funny!

Luckily,  I was able to salvage a few cookie shaped cookies from the baking sheet, You know, for picture purposes. ;)

The rest, although edible were not very pretty.

Here is a list of the ingredients you will need.   The recipe I followed Came from Food.com   Here is a copy of the recipe.

  • 2 1/2-3 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons of candied jalapenos

Directions:

  1. Mix 2 1/2 cups flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.
  2. In a larger mixing bowl, with a mixer, cream butter and vanilla, adding sugar slowly, beating until fluffy.
  3. Add eggs one at a time and mix thoroughly after each egg.
  4. Gradually add flour mixture , 1 1/2 peppers and seeds and combine well. If dough seems sticky, gradually add remaining 1/2 cup flour.
  5. Refrigerate dough at least 1 hour and up to overnight.
  6. Be sure to cover with plastic wrap. Roll dough into balls about the size of walnuts.
  7. Moisten bottom of glass with water, dip in sugar and press to even thickness.
  8. Top with a few pieces of jalapeno pepper, press lightly into dough.
  9. Bake at 375 degrees for about 10 to 12 minutes.
  10. Remove from pan and cool.
I’m not sure that this was a success.   It was certainly an interesting experiment.
Here’s a few things I have done with my jalapeno relish.
  • placed them into corn bread
  • used them in my baked beans
  • put them on top of cream cheese (on crackers) and gobbled them up.

I’m sure I’ll find a few other ways to use them.  :)

22 Comments

  1. your son has interesting taste buds! Have a great weekend :)

    • Ha! They’re not too bad. Sweet and spicy!

  2. I´d eat a cookie the size of a continent if it had jalapeño pepper in it!

    • Ha! :) You do love your spicy Tanya! Glad you got your posting issue worked out.

  3. Really? This sounds…. interesting.

    • They are very interesting! :)

  4. Intriguing. Although I definitely don’t see giant cookies as a fail :D I messed up a batch of choco cookies once and ended up with an amazing solid baking-sheet worth of cookie. Can I count that as having “one” cookie? :)

    • Yes, if it’s connected you could probably count it as 1 cookie! :D

  5. These sound worth trying, especially if my pepper plants do as well as I hope. Some are coming in.

    • They are certainly a unique taste! Yay for your peppers coming in!

  6. Love the Pangea reference. These cookies sound intriguing, especially since I’m not a huge fan of spice, but why the heck not in a sweet cookie?

    • :) It’s subtle. There is some spice though!

  7. These are the funniest cookies! I can only imagine the faces of people I’d serve them to without a warning. :)

    • Ha! My daughter’s face was very funny. At least I thought it was funny. She was not amused.

  8. Liz

    I have never heard of candied jalapenos nor jalapeno sugar cookies! I’m starting to think that ideas for recipes really are endless. :)

    • I’m sure the recipe ideas are endless. :) These are interesting and sweetly spicy cookies.

  9. We are definitly on a roll! :) Thanks for the inspiration with the Candies Jalapenos…I can’t wait to try it with the cream cheese and crackers..and now that you mentioned corn bread and baked beans…the ways to use them are endless!! :)

    • :) They are fabulous in baked beans!

  10. A sweet and spicy cookie sounds like an interesting idea to play around with!

  11. I think this would be amazing. I love jalapenos and I think the heat mixed with sweet would work really well. Great idea!

    • it’s a very different taste for a cookie. :) I enjoyed giving this recipe a go!

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

