Garden Gab weeks 22 and 23….and freezer jam

So, it’s hot…Yep a shocker I know!  Last week, instead of Garden Gab on Friday I posted a whole wheat chocolate cake recipe.  I know, the cake was lovely, but it felt strange after 21 weeks of garden posts to not have one last week.  So, to correct that and make myself feel better….This week I have pictures for you from the last two weeks.  It rained here on Thursday, just enough to wet the ground and make it nice and slick to drive on. Heh!  Oh, I’m not being nice, I am sure the rain we got helped the ground a lot, but we’ve been so parched for so long…the rain yesterday was really just a few drops in a really dry bucket.

Without further ado…. my garden pictures.

        

         

         

    

My okra is still blooming beautifully.  The carrots are still very small, but they are still growing.

The royal purple beans are beginning to grow bean pods!  They are a beautiful color, but I was unable to get a good picture of them.  The purple hulls are simply fighting to stay alive.  Poor things!

The strawberries are still in expansion mode, stretching out their little green arms for more and more space.

My poor zucchini plants are still so tiny,  but they are trying to bud.   So tiny, so cute, my little zucchini plants.  I doubt I will get anything fruit from them, but I am not opposed to allowing them to try.
:)

Now on to the freezer jam.

Freezer jam is so easy…so easy. Seriously.  So. Very. Easy.

This freezer jam requires no cooking and very few ingredients.   I have made this jam with fresh strawberries and with frozen strawberries.

It works best with fresh strawberries. The last batch I made was with frozen strawberries, this batch was made with fresh strawberries.

Here’s what you need.  This recipe is adapted from a Ball canning recipe. It was found in the Ball Blue Book of Canning.

  • 6 cups of mushed, smashed, crushed strawberries (fresh or frozen)

    

  • 1 1/2 cups of sugar
  • 5 TBSP of Ball instant Pectin

The instructions……

  • mix the sugar and Pectin together
  •  add sugar mixture to the strawberries

  •  stir constantly for 3 minutes

  • Fill freezer jars (I used the Ball brand plastic jars and 2 freezer safe glass jars)
  •  place the lid on the jars
  •  Let the jam “set” for 30 minutes on the counter top

  • label and freeze         OR
  • gobble it up now, pour it on ice cream, roll around in it, have toast for every meal with gobs and gobs of jelly. 
  • OR…(what I did) place all but 1 in the freezer. They will “keep” in the fridge for 3 weeks (yeah, like they will last that long), they will keep in the freezer for up to a year.

Enjoy

                   

Don’t forget that Monday Allie of Forgotten Beast and I will be posting canning recipes again and we will also have a Canning Link-up!  We want you to link up your canning posts with ours! Get your canning posts ready (new or previously posted recipes) and join us Monday!

Have a wonderful weekend!

20 Comments

  1. Love the idea of freezer jam, that’s too cool. I’ve got to try that soon! Hope you have a wonderful weekend. xx

    • Thank you Caroline! I wish you a wonderful weekend too!

  2. Thanks for the reminder to remind ;) And good looking garden you have there! It seems to be surviving the heat just fine

    • Heh! You’re welcome! And my garden thanks you!

  3. Your garden is doing soo well, a liitle drop fo rain always helps too!

  4. I have to make some of this freezer jam this weekend. It looks delicious!

    • We really like it, and you can put it in tiny little jars. Perfect for smaller households!

  5. Your garden is still looking really good, all heat considered! I love these weekly roundups. Do you plant in the fall? We’re considering it this year.

    • Thanks Greg! You know, I was just trying to decide if I was going to have a fall garden or not. My husband is building me a garden extension, which is good since my raised bed garden seems to be sinking. :( I’ll let ya know!

  6. Hi, i am new to your pages, but your garden looks great!.. do the fall garden they are always a surprise! c

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment. My husband and I plan to discuss the fall garden idea soon. I checked out your blog…your pictures are beautiful!

  7. Liz

    I’ve never tried any kind of berries, nor okra. But we had good luck with beans and zucchini last year. Fingers crossed you get some fruit off them!

    • Thank you Liz! My first batch of zucchini got attacked and killed by bugs. This set of plants was a late season attempt to get more squash! :)

  8. No way!
    no cooking?!
    I will have to try that soon

    • It’s so awesome! :) I hope you have the instant pectin available to you.

  9. My garden looks lovely and green. And it is. However, besides a small handful of soy beans and a few tomatoes, it’s not producing anything. No squash, no pumpkins, no watermelons, no green beans. But the foliage is beautiful :(

    • it’s so tricky sometimes. Maybe the pumpkins need more time? At least it is all pretty and green.

  10. I am amazed at how well your garden has survived! We have not had enough rain fall this winter and might face water restrictions in summer :)

    • Crazy weather this year! Our lakes are 6 feet low. Not a happy thing for boat owners.
      I’m hopeful that we will have a rain filled fall season.

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

