Farmer’s Market inspired Carrot Raisin Bread

Monday we went to the Farmer’s Market. I was mostly out of produce, plus my husband works near-ish to the market so we got to see him in the middle of the day. That’s always a plus.

Here is what we bought. I took a picture before I put the produce in the fridge this time. I was surprised by how many comments I got about my fridge. I love my fridge and I guess you do too!

Anyhoo, here’s what we bought.

  • three types of tomato
  • beets
  • spinach
  • 2 avocados
  • sugar snap peas
  • 8 ball squash
  • onions (multi-colored)
  • bell peppers
  • mushrooms
  • corn on the cob
  • a watermelon

and

  • giant carrots

See. Giant carrots. A bunnies delight. I have 7 of them. :) I’ve roasted a few. Now it’s time to make some carrot raisin bread!

I’m making a double batch, but I’ll give you the instructions for making a single batch.

Carrot Raisin Bread

  • 1 cup of cake flour (yes, I’m using cake flour again. If you don’t have cake flour you can use this guide to make a substitution…..pssstttt using corn starch)
  • 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup of plain Greek yogurt
  • 2/3 to 3/4-1 cup of sugar or honey (2/3 if you like breads less sweet and 3/4-1 cup if you like it sweeter)
  • 1/3 cup of butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup of shredded carrot
  • 1/2 cup of golden raisins
  • to make a neat topping for the cake/bread Mix 2 TBSP of sugar with T TBSP of orange peel and sprinkle it over the cake/bread before baking.

Heat oven to 350 deg F. spray a square pan with baking spray

Mix dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl.

Add yogurt, sugar/honey, butter, and eggs. mix well.

Stir in raisins & carrot

Spread the batter into loaf pan.

Bake for about 1 hour and 5 min. (or until done and a tooth pick or knife comes out clean when you check the bread)

It’s great plain or you could…..

Serve it with cream cheese drizzle.

3-oz package cream cheese, softened

3/4 cup confectioners sugar

3 TBSP milk

1 TBSP margarine or butter, softened

1/2 tsp vanilla

In small bowl, with mixer at medium speed, beat above ingredients until smooth.

Drizzle it over the loaves.

I’m linking up with Tandy @ Lavender and Lime for this week’s food challenge. Something Sweet. Using dried fruits…Raisins.

15 Comments

  1. I just love seeing your farmers market hauls!

    • Oh Greg, I just love the farmer’s market. I’m sure you and Katherine feel the same way about yours. I wish I lived closer to the Dallas FM, I’d go everyday.

  2. It looks like you had a great shopping trip at the farmers market. There is nothing like fresh produce to inspire a cook. Love your end result.

    • Thanks Karen!

      My daughter and I love going to the farmer’s market together. I’m hopeful that she will still enjoy going to the market with me years from now. :)

  3. Everything┬┤s bigger in Texas! Have never seen such huge carrots…amazing. And love the recipe, a slight twist on my usual one, so when I can face putting the oven on will come back to this one :)

    • Tanya, these are the largest carrots I’ve ever seen too. :) I’m hopeful that they have more when we visit the market again.

  4. Love it when farmers markets inspire great food. This bread looks fantastic!

    • Thanks! It got a thumbs up from my family. :)

  5. Carrot and raisins sounds like an interesting combination, never thought of it or tried before. Will certainly do it. For starters I may pop a few raisins in my carrot salad next time to see. Thanks for the idea

    • Thanks for stopping by! I love carrot salad with raisins in it. Do you use mayo in your carrot salad?

  6. thanks for taking part in the challenge :)

    • I enjoyed it. I’m trying to decide what to do with your new challenge. It’s a tricky one.

  7. OK, those are carrots on CRACK! Dude! Miracle Grow, anyone? LOVE IT! And YUM on the carrot raisin bread! :)

    As much as I love my toddler, I really can’t wait for him to grow up JUST a little so I can cook more!!! :) This is saved for the fall.

    • I know, they’re huge right? I checked at the Farmer’s Market today and the carrots are much smaller. The reign of the giant carrot must be over.

Trackbacks

  1. Ingredient Challenge « Lavender and Lime

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

