Cream of Mushroom soup~~Slow Cooker Style

So, I bought mushrooms when I was at the farmer’s market on Monday.  I was all caught up in the excitement of buying produce and I forgot 1 important thing.  I remembered that 1 very important thing once I got home.
What was that thing?
Um, I’m the only one in my house who eats mushrooms unless they are in soup form & part of a casserole. OOPS!
Major fail. I can’t eat that many mushrooms alone. It’s time to make some cream of mushroom soup.
I searched the interwebs. I did not like what I found. I was not impressed, but it might have been my lack of good search word skills and not the recipes at fault.
I decided to use Stephanie O’Dea‘s recipe as a jumping off point and jumped right into the deep end and started making my soup.

I used my very large (5 or 6 qt) slow cooker.

What you need….

  • About 6-8 cups of washed mushrooms (I used the button mushrooms)
  • 3 cups of cool water
  • 2 cups of homemade veggie stock, but you could use store-bought also…or more water.
  • 3 TBSP of Lemon Juice
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 chopped leek
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 TBSP chopped garlic
  • 2 TBSP tarragon
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 tsp lemon peel
  • To make the cream 1 pint of heavy whipping cream (You could use milk, or soy milk or cream cheese instead) I wanted something rich and creamy.
What to do….

Wash the mushrooms, cut them into fourths. Add all ingredients (except for whipping cream) into the slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours.
If I had an immersion blender I would have used it to blend up the cooked mushrooms. I don’t have one, so I used my blender.
After I blended the mushrooms up, I added the whipping cream and blended it a little longer.
Cool completely and  place in freezable storage containers or freezer bags.
I placed 2 cups of soup in each container and that will work nicely for any casseroles needing cream of mushroom soup in them.
The soup tastes rich and is yummy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 Comments

  1. Mmm, I love cream of mushroom soup! AND using my slowcooker. This is getting added to my list of things to make (plus I’ve been on a major soup-kick recently–I guess my brain/stomach doesn’t know it’s 95 degrees outside and soup is out of season.)

    • I love soup year round too girl!! :) my taste-buds are like honey-badger they just don’t care (what season it is). I don’t gobble bees or live snakes-that’s just crazy.

      • Love the idea of Honey badger tastebuds. Now my summer soup-eating is bad ass and predatory :D

      • Awesomeness.

  2. Great slideshow. The mushrooms are so wonderful at our farmers market too. Will have to pick some more up tomorrow.

    • Hopefully you two both eat mushrooms. :)

  3. Love cream of mushroom soup but have never thought of cooking it slowly – bet the flavour was really intense and delicious!

    • Very flavorful, thick and creamy. :) I’m
      Very pleased with the results.

  4. I love mushrooms in almost any fashion, but this soup looks tasty. When I make my own mushroom soup, I usually follow Ina Garten’s recipe. I’ll have to give yours a shot.

    • I don’t believe I’ve seen the Barefoot Contessa’s mushroom soup recipe.
      I like her.
      You’ll see that I’m a slow-cooker fan, it’s easy to set it, fill it, get busy doing other things and come back later to soft, flavorful food.

Trackbacks

  1. Slow cooker Monday « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

