Polenta Squares and Slow cooked beans


I don’t make polenta often.  I’m far too fond of cornbread. It’s my Southern roots.

Polenta is boiled cornmeal. Some polenta recipes call for just cornmeal and water.

The recipe I use most often is adapted from a Betty Crocker recipe.

  • 2 cups cornmeal
  • 2 cups of veggie broth, chicken broth or water
  • 6 cups of boiling water
  • 1 tsp of salt

Because I am using this polenta with a meal that needs a little sweet to go with the salty I am adding

  • 1/3 cup of sugar, honey or agave

if you want the polenta to be more savory you could add

  • 4 TBSP of Parmesan cheese

Add stock, water, salt and cornmeal to a large pot, stirring constantly until the mixture thickens. Add sugar.  Reduce heat and cover. Simmer, stirring occasionally, for 10 min. Remove from heat. The mixture will be thick. If you’re adding Parmesan cheese add it now. Pour mixture into a non-stick square pan.

Chill for at least 1 hour, or until firm.

Now to broil it for a nice, crisp outside. Set your oven to the broil setting. Cut polenta into squares., place on greased baking sheet and broil for 3 min on each side.

I placed the polenta on plates and poured the pinto beans over it.

I served the beans and polenta with a wedge salad.

We had leftover polenta so I poured Apricot-Orange Marmalade-y syrup over it and we ate that for desert.

The great thing about polenta is that it will absorb some of the flavor of what ever you pour over it.

13 Comments

  1. I´m inspired to make polenta now! Hope you enjoyed it, it looks lovely and a great idea to use it for dessert too.

    • Thanks Tanya! We enjoyed it. :) The polenta paired well with the beans and the syrup.

  2. Growing up my Mawmaw and Mama made “mush” (cooked cornmeal in water) when she ran out of grits!! We’d leave it the texture of grits (the thickened in the pot texture) instead of spreading in a dish, chilling, etc. We’d eat it with butter, salt/pepper, eggs, bacon, etc., just like grits! Who new it was fancy (unfinished) polenta!! I learn something everyday!

    Actually, I still fix mush for my kids and they like it better than grits. =)

    • That’s funny! You were eating polenta and you did not even know it! ;)

  3. I might make polenta tonight have had it on my brain lately. Yours looks great and I love how you serve it.

    • Thanks Greg! I get many of my cooking inspiration by looking at your blog.
      I’m glad no one’s said “What? Sugar in polenta?!?!” :)

  4. Mmm, now I have a serious craving for polenta. And I love the idea of broiling it! I usually just saute slices, but broiling sounds like you’d get even better texture.

    • It gives the polenta a wonderfully crisp texture on the top and the bottom.
      :)

  5. each time I try polenta I don’t like it! Maybe with some marmalade I would?

    • My kids don’t really care for it either. They did like it better with the marmalade-y syrup on it.

  6. Yea! I think I found it…is this the beans post you mentioned earlier? I have no clue why I never thought to make beans in a slow cooker…guess I’m still “learning” how to pull off this whole domestic thing, LOL! And you said they don’t need to soak right? Just throw them in with water and they’re good to go? I’m going to try this for sure, will let you know how it goes, thanks for the ideas! : )

    • Rinse them, but I don’t bother to soak them overnight. The slow cooker on low for 8-10 hours does the job nicely, and your kitchen does not get all hot! :) Thanks for the comment. Keep up all the great coupon related posts!

    • There are a few slow cooker bean posts on my blog.
      Black beans
      Pinto Beans

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

