Tri-Color potato salad

Happy Memorial Day!

A BIG, HUGE THANK YOU TO ALL THOSE WHO FIGHT FOR OUR FREEDOM.

Without the selfless sacrifices of all those who have fought and those who have lost their lives in the fight, my life might be very different.

So, it’s already HOT in Texas. Seriously, it’s going to be in the mid 90’s all week. It’s the beginning of the summer season. School is ending, kids are free (that’s how my kids see it), grills are heating up all over the place.

What is a better summer time side than potato salad?

I love it.

There is much controversy in the foodie blogging world over mayo or no mayo.

Are you a mayo lover?

I am.

I’m unapologetic about my love of mayo. If I were French, I’d dip my french fries in it. Oh who am I kidding, I do sometimes dip my french fries in it…my excuse…they’re “french” fries. :)

My potato salad recipe was given to me by my sweet Grandmother. I tweaked it for my own tastes, but making it always reminds me of my Grandma and I usually call her just to verify the recipe that I already know by heart. It’s an excuse, but a good one, to call my Grandma.

Here is my Grandma’s potato salad recipe tweaked with my additions.

  • *I placed a link on the potato brand because they are currently offering a buy 1 get 1 free printable coupon* Hello savings!
  • 1 bag of Klondike minis (which is a mixture of red (rose), gold(golddust) and purple potatoes)
  • 1 bag of Klondike Gold (Golddust)
  • 1-2 hard boiled eggs (I usually omit these)
  • 1/4 cup of diced celery
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of diced onions
  • 1 TBSP Garlic Salt
  • a dash(x2) of Parsley
  • a pinch(x2) of Cilantro
  • 1/4 cup of mustard
  • 3/4 cup of mayo
  • 3/4 cup of miracle whip
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

Cook the potatoes (about 20 min). Drain and rinse with cool water. Place in a bowl and sprinkle with the apple cider vinegar. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

Remove from fridge, dice potatoes (discard any left over vinegar), add onion and celery (at this stage add the diced eggs if you want them). In another bowl mix together the mustard, mayo, miracle whip and seasonings until fully mixed.

Gently fold the sauce into the bowl with the potatoes and gently mix until fully incorporated.

I use the extra pinches of parsley and cilantro to the top. Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour. Then serve.

Tri colored potatoes

Mixed and ready to chill

I failed to take a picture before they were placed on the table, here is a picture of the leftovers in a container.

Yum!

8 Comments

  1. Now that’s my kind of potato salad. I can’t help it if my wife is all controversial in her hatred of mayo.:) Very nice recipe and a nice tribute to our troops. And it’s getting hot here. Trying not to turn on the AC until Wednesday… we’ll see.

    • Thanks! I thought you might like it, knew your wife would not. How does she eat deviled eggs? :)

      My ac is already on. LoL!!

  2. No mayo!! A dash of mustard, a good solid slog of vinegar, and enough olive oil to barely dampen it. Don’t drown the potatoes!

    It’s hot up north too. I just made my first iced tea of the year, and will likely be wearing bike short to work tomorrow. *sigh*

    (I eat mustard with my french fries.)

    • I’ve been known to dip my fries in mustard. :) I love a good iced tea. Lemon or no lemon?

  3. Looks delicious – and yes to the mayo! This would work too for a “British” celebration – the flag is red, white and blue too!

    • Awesome…international tri-colored potato salad…I like it!

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

