Green Chilie Chicken and Black Bean Soup

Here is what I’m doing with my left over black beans and rice.

Last week, my husband and I went to Chili’s for lunch. We ordered the soup and salad lunch, and my husband picked the Green Chilie Chicken soup.  It was delicious!  I was tempted to steal it from him.

I thought about it,

I really,

REALLY

considered it.

I did not steal his soup, but I did decided to search for a way to make this soup at home.

The one thing I  thought was missing from the soup was black beans.  I knew when I made this soup I was going to add black beans, so since I made black beans on Monday I am making Green Chilie Chicken soup today and using my leftover beans.

I searched the mighty interwebs, and after looking at a few different recipes I decided I really liked the one that Jenny of the Picky Palate had posted on her website.  Jenny created this recipe after trying the same soup at Chili’s.

  This adapted recipe came from The Picky Palate.  I will notate any changes I made in BOLD BLUE.  Below is a direct quote from The Picky Palate, unless it is noted in blue.

Green Chili Chicken and Lime Soup

2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 onion, chopped

4 cloves fresh or roasted garlic, minced (I used a jar of roasted garlic, it was phenomenal!)

80 oz chicken broth, 2 1/2 cartons of the 32 oz (I used 1 carton of chicken broth, 4 cups of frozen homemade broth and 2 KNOR broth cubes)

10 oz can rotel tomatoes, mild (I used fire roasted (non-spicy) tomatoes)

7 oz can diced green chilies

2-3 cups of cooked black beans *from Monday’s meal*

4 medium boneless skinless chicken breasts; cooked, shredded and lightly seasoned with salt and pepper (I diced my chicken)

2 1/2 Cups cooked rice of choice (I used the left over white rice from Monday’s meal)

1/4 Cup fresh lime juice

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin (I used 2 teaspoons, I love cumin)

Pinches of Kosher salt, fresh cracked black pepper and Lawry’s Garlic Salt with Parsley to taste

1 bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped

Fresh diced avocados, drizzled with lime juice

1 Cup shredded cheddar cheese

Tortilla chips

1.  Place oil into a large dutch oven over medium heat.  Saute onion for 5 minutes then add in garlic; cook for 1 minute.  Stir in chicken broth, tomtoes, green chilies, chicken breast, rice, lime juice and seasonings.  Cook for 5 minutes; taste and season according to your liking.  Right before serving add chopped cilantro.

2.  Serve soup with fresh diced avocado, shredded cheese and crushed chips if desired.  If you can handle the heat, squeeze some Siracha over top, yum!!

10-12 servings

Ready to serve.

This soup is hearty, it tastes wonderful.  You will want a bowl full, or two.  Probably two.

9 Comments

  1. I like the addition of fire-roasted tomatoes. And I like how you put the original with your notes, very easy to follow. Great recipe. I sort of expect my wife to steal my food when we go out.

    • I wanted my husband’s soup, but it seemed mean to steal it. ;)

  2. Now this is a soup I would make and serve in the summer months! Love the combinations of flavors and ingredients!

    • It’s got a fantastic flavor. If you try it, I hope you enjoy it. :)

  3. This soup sounds really good-I like everything in it, so I’ll have to try it soon!

    • It tastes awesome Nancy. Today I think it tastes even better. :)

  4. Really enjoying reading your recipes and posts. Happy I found you through Rufu’s Food and Spirits. I too am a stay at home mother, and in between making custom cakes, being mommy and all things domestic, I try to stay current on WP. I love discovering other parents blogs about food and life. And look forward to more of your recipes.

    • Thanks! I love finding other like minded bloggers too! You are a cake artist? I’m envious. My cakes taste great, but they are not very pretty. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Slow Cooking Monday, Back to Basics « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

