Slow Cooker Recipes…..Spaghetti sauce

How versatile is spaghetti sauce?

That’s a rhetorical question. It’s mighty versatile. I use this tomato-ey sauce in many dishes. I use it when I make spaghetti (duh), I use it when I make lasagna, stuffed peppers, and meatloaf. I use it when I make my ravioli bake. It’s freeze-able, can-able, store-able. If you have space you can make a large batch and have saucy goodness on hand for quick fix meals.
I like to make it in my slow cooker. It can also be made on the stove, but I’ve got things to do….I don’t like feeling tied to the stove for 2+ hours, my slow cooker does the work for me in 8-10 hours (on low) or 4-6 hours (on high).

Here’s what you’ll need.

  • 2 (28 oz.) cans tomatoes-diced, crushed, whole(you’ll have to mush them) or if you’re a brave soul about 4, 5 or 6 pounds of fresh ripe (the riper the better) tomatoes washed and diced
  • 1 (6 oz.) can tomato paste
  • (6 oz.) of water (I use the tomato paste can)
  • 1 (8 oz.) can of tomato sauce
  • a dash of red wine (optional)
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar (or regular sugar if you’re out of brown sugar like I am D’oh!)
  • 2 tsp. oregano
  • 1 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 tsp. tarragon
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 tsp. thyme
  • 1 tsp. basil
  • a dash of crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. parsley
  • 2 cloves garlic-diced, chopped, mushed (whatever you choose)
  • 1 green pepper-diced
  • 1 cup of diced celery
  • 1 onion- chopped
(or what I use is a frozen diced mix of green pepper, onion and celery 3 cups)
Place all the ingredients in the slow cooker, stir, cover and cook. I check the flavor a few times during the cooking process. I usually end up adding 1-2 more tsp. of salt, but it’s best to start low and add more if needed. (easy to add, hard to subtract)
Cook on low for 8-10 hours or high for 4-6 hours.

20110519-094823.jpg

Enjoy!
To store in the freezer, cool and place in a freezer safe container. I use small plastic containers, but you could use freezer bags. You can store it for up to 3 months.
20110519-054340.jpg

The finished sauce...smells heavenly.

3 Comments

  1. June

    I might try to do this – this weekend. Thanks!

    • June, I got 2 decent sized containers out of this batch. One is in the fridge for this weekend and I put the other one in the freezer. I’m feeding 4 people who all eat adult sized portions. You have littler ones than mine are. You could probably get three or four (or more) meals worth of sauce out of this batch size.

Trackbacks

  1. Meatless Monday | A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

